What is the ARMA Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program?

ARMA’s Excellence Awards Program recognizes industry professionals who have utilized asphalt roofing in impressive and technically stunning ways for both steep- and low-slope applications. This program offers roofing contractors a unique opportunity to showcase their work, promote their businesses, and demonstrate their enthusiasm for the industry. Each year, ARMA receives numerous entries reinforcing asphalt roofing as the optimal choice for residential and commercial projects.

The awards program has become an industry-wide competition, covering the full spectrum of asphalt roofing systems. Participation is free, and contractors can submit multiple entries for consideration.

CLICK HERE to view the submission rules

*Please be advised that only roofing contractors or roofing companies are permitted to submit. Manufacturers cannot submit on behalf of contractors.

2024 submissions are closed. Be on the lookout for the 2025 Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program starting in August 2024.

How Does Judging Work?

The judging panel consists of several professionals well-versed in asphalt roofing. This panel may include ARMA’s Executive Vice President, one or more of ARMA’s technical experts, editors of prominent roofing trade publications, and roofing industry veterans with extensive experience. Projects are evaluated based on four criteria:

I. Why Asphalt –Why was asphalt seen as the roofing solution? What circumstances existed with the building, and what benefits made it clear that asphalt was the best roofing choice?

II. Project Challenges –Were there any technical, operational, or environmental challenges that were successfully overcome through the innovative use of asphalt roofing materials? Does the project demonstrate the reliability, durability, and overall system strength of asphalt roofing? Is the project a testament to how a properly installed asphalt roofing system can ensure protection and peace of mind?

III. Distinction –Why is this project different from its peers? Was the quality of the craftsmanship extraordinary, and were there any circumstances, pre-existing conditions, or challenges that made it stand out? Can this project be considered a step above the rest?

IV. Beauty – Does the project showcase an aesthetic appeal or exhibit impressive technical complexity? Does it possess visual allure or intrigue, elevating the skyline, building use, or design?

What Do Winners Receive?

ARMA’s Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program recognizes outstanding craftsmanship in asphalt roofing, whether a project with a steep slope, low slope, or a combination of both. Asphalt roofing is a dynamic, versatile, and innovative field that is constantly evolving, and the winners of this award have demonstrated exceptional skills in this area. In recognition of this achievement, the medal winners (Gold, Silver, and Bronze) receive:

  • A monetary prize (Gold – $2,000; Silver – $1,000; Bronze – $500)
  • Features in national roofing and/or building and construction publications (excellent portfolio-building material)
  • Coverage in the contractor’s local media (exposure to nearby audiences)
    Social media promotion
  • Recognition at a member company booth during the International Roofing Expo (IRE) – an opportunity to network with asphalt roofing manufacturers
  • An official ARMA certificate and other authority-boosting materials
  • A spot on the ARMA website for the winning project

Medal Winners

Based on the judges’ evaluations, the projects that receive the highest scores will be recognized with prestigious Gold, Silver, or Bronze medals to acknowledge their outstanding performance and achievement.

$2,000 Prize

$1,000 Prize

$500 Prize

New for 2024: Best-In-Class Categories

Aside from the medal winners, the judges may also propose specific projects for best-in-class categories at the end of the evaluation process. There will be only one winner per category, and annual acknowledgments are optional.

Submission Tip Sheet

Use this checklist to ensure your entry covers all the key points of your project. Please be detailed in your descriptions.

Ready to Submit?

2024 submissions are closed. Be on the lookout for the 2025 Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program starting in August 2024.

Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program May 8, 2017